Trying to stay sane, take 2

Yes, that’s right, TRYING so very hard. I have 2 weeks of spring break (which is why I’m home and not in North Carolina) and I THOUGHT that I’d just get to chill at home (with that minor excursion to Virginia Beach. But instead, my parents just sprang on me that when they drive me back to school (which is always really nice of them to do instead of putting me on a bus – see I know how to be the grateful child too) we’re going to leave a few days early to spend some time at Stone Mountain State Park.

I actually just took a minute to google this place and in so doing, I’ve already calmed down a bit. How bipolar do I sound?? It just that the last few days that I was planning on being in Richmond, overlap with another friend coming home from college for the weekend, though the truth is, I think we’ll still overlap for a day. Anyways, apparently we’re going to Stone Mountain with the Casons b/c Jocelyn goes to school with me and we’re friends and all so I shouldn’t complain too much.

Also, I just don’t like surprises.

So actually this place looks pretty cool. There’s rock climbing and fishing and my mom said she didn’t know yet if we’d camp out or get a cabin. And we’ll be driving down the Blue Ridge Parkway to get there which is supposed to be pretty. Apparently it’s “a shame” that I now live in NC but haven’t really traveled through the state.

Though I have been to places on the coast like Hammocks Beach State Park on Bear Island and Carolina Beach State Park, which is so far my most favorite beach ever, but that could be because that’s where I met Ricky (the guy my parents hate), though it does also happen to be a pretty cool beach.

And last time my parents drove me to school we went to the North Carolina Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores. And another time to the North Carolina Aquarium at Fort Fisher —have I told you about my fishmonging father?

Whatever. My mom asked me to go online and find things we can do at Stone Mountain so that’s why I’m here—any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

