First stop: Pennsylvania!

I realize I was being a bit close-minded about the east coast. I know that the major cities that I was frustrated with comprise only a small portion of the coast… really I think I was just distressed with my job which was supposed to be an environmental grassroots group but which was so heavily under the influence of big business that it was losing its focus. Anyways, we’re in Ohiopyle in Pennsylvania and I just want to write about my experience in this gorgeous state so far. The Laurel Mountains are a wonder whose majesty left me dumbfounded and hungry for what’s to come in the next months. When we got to Ohiopyle State Park, we immediately met up with this group of very cool people from Denver who were just ending a roadtrip of their out to the east coast. We exchanged email addresses and we got a lot of GREAT info about where to go between here and Colorado. We spent 2 days at Ohiopyle State Park with our new friends. The only word to describe the area is awesome, and not in a totally awesome way, but in a truly awe inspiring way. There was waterfalls all over that made it just seem like water was pouring from all parts of the sky and gathering just before us, and there were waterslides which was crazy fun. The Denver people had A LOT of beers and we all drank and slid, drank and slid and by the end were covered with mud passed out in the sun. today they left early (I don’t know how they got up) and we’re just recuperating a bit at this campsite before we head out. Since Pittsburgh is so close, we’re going to spend the weekend at a friend’s house there. We’re picking Jackie up at the Ross Park Mall (where she works) and then taking her and her Little Sister to the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium. Jackie and I both were Big Sisters together in college so we thought it would be fun to Big Sister together again.

Not that I want to plan to far ahead, but if I want to be in Missouri by the beginning of May, Ryan thinks that we should spend this month exploring Indiana, Illinois, Michigan and Kentucky, but I also really wanted to go to Minnesota. I have a friend at Lake Maria State Park and I’ve heard beautiful things about that area. Does that make sense? Anyone have any ideas if we have time to head all the way up north before returning to Missouri by May 1?

Ryan says I should include that Kingpin and Silence of the Lambs were both filmed in Pittsburgh. Oh, and Groundhog Day.

Ok, will try and write again soon!

Leave a Reply

