The Pepacton Stop

So I made it to the mighty Pepacton Reservoir–one of the sources for New York City’s water supply. Its beautiful and blue. I hiked from Beaverkill where I was dropped off yesterday and made it here before nightfall. I couldn’t fall asleep, but finally got to rest around 3:30 in the morning. I slept until 9:30. I’ve been looking out at the water now for about an hour. Its calming and quiet. In the distance I see a trout fisherman…

I just closed my eyes for a little, taking in the smell of the wild, of the one source–the energy that I feel deep inside m, inside it all. Its like that when ever I am away from humanity. I wish I could have that same feeling when I’m around people. You know that feeling where no matter what it will all be fine. Its something I need to work on–to build and grow on.

Well, I’ll have to be on the move soon. I need to get to Route 17 and start heading out towards Western NY and maybe up into the Finger Lakes before nightfall. My travel planner should help in finding some good hotels and maybe some wineries if I make it the Finger Lakes.pepacton14.jpg

Pepacton Reservoir

2 Responses

  1. Hi Tim 🙂

    That’s a gorgeous shot of the Pepacton Reservoir you took! For a few years as a child my family summered near the Catskill Mountains and it afforded a city kid a beautiful experience, all right.

    I think what you are doing with this journey of yours is a wonderful idea. and I feel that as every day passes by, you will definitely be a healthier, more colorful and more fullfilled human being.

    Be safe and continue to savor this treat for all of your senses! 🙂

  2. Hi Tim: I think that you omitted a detail about the picture: Photo by © Mike Szyszka 1999.

    Joel Weber

Leave a Reply

